Opinionated Y.T.

Come get your feelings hurt

Why Society Is Less Civil

with 2 comments

Have you noticed just how rude people are these days? Do you seem to be constantly surrounded by rude people? Every time I find myself in a grocery store, fast food restaurant, or any other establishment where the general public is welcome I seem to be surrounded by rudeness. There is usually some barely literate cashier who can’t be bothered to address another human being in a polite fashion. The customers inside the establishment are typically so self-absorbed that they don’t even seem to be aware that there are other people in the area.

Don’t get me wrong. I am not advocating that people part like the Red Sea at my approach, or that cashiers engage me with a long list of all my positive traits. I would just like to see people in general be more polite.

I believe I know why politeness seems a foreign concept to many people these days. I think it is due to a total lack of ass-kickings. Am I crazy or was there once a time in this country when a guy would whip your ass if you didn’t show a certain amount of respect.¬† Was that maybe just in the South where a man would whip your ass if you didn’t tip your hat a lady and all that jazz?

One of my core philosophies is that some people just need their ass whipped. Unfortunately we have a built a society that favors peace at any cost. We go along to get along so to speak. I think the first nail in the coffin was when dueling was outlawed. Seriously, the next time you go into a grocery store, and some asshat parks their buggy in the middle of the aisle while they carefully weigh their options of between Lucky Charms and Frosted Flakes, I dare you not to want to slap them in the face with a glove and challenge them to pistols at first light.

Written by YT

06/19/2013 at 9:06 pm

Posted in Inane Ramblings

Tagged with , , , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I thought it was just all the damnyankees that moved down here.

    rogerunited

    07/08/2013 at 12:30 pm

    • Most likely a contributing factor, but I contend if they got their asses whooped more the more problem would reduced.

      YT

      07/08/2013 at 12:46 pm


Leave a Reply

